Skógar Museum was founded in 1949 and now hosts a collection of more than 18,000 regional artifacts, exhibited in 3 Museums. It is located 150 km east from Reykjavík just off Ring Road 1 and 30 km west of Vík. The Museum was especially known for the curator Þórður Tómasson who is retired by now.
Skógar Museum is divided into three parts: the Folk Museum which offers a huge variety of artifacts displayed on three floors: fishing, agriculture, farming and natural history, as well as artifacts dating back to the Viking Age. In the rebuilt turf houses in the Open-Air Museum you can catch the atmosphere of times long gone and experience how Icelanders lived through the centuries.
The Technical Museum, which also houses a souvenir shop and the Skógakaffi cafeteria, tells the story of technology and transportation and its development in Iceland in the 19th and 20th century.
For group reservations and guided tours please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call +354 487 8845.
Guided tours are available upon reservation in English, German and Icelandic for groups of 10 or more people. Sometimes there is the opportunity to have guided tours in French, Spanish, Norwegian and Danish. The guided tour takes place in the Folk Museum and is usually 20 to 30 minute introduction of the Museum, the artifacts and the daily life of the people that used them.
Guided tours are available from opening time up to 1 hour before closing time.